Austria expands border controls with Czech Republic

According to Austrian Minister of Internal Affairs Gerhard Karner (ÖVP), border controls with the Czech Republic will be extended until mid-April.

“Border controls are one of many measures to combat the smuggling mafia operating at the international level. Moreover, given the international security situation, border controls are also necessary for decisive action against extremists,” Interior Minister Karner said in a statement on Friday evening. said. The new extension will take place from midnight and will initially run until April 16.

Austria is one of eleven Schengen countries with border controls

Austria currently also carries out border controls with Slovakia, Hungary and Slovenia. At other borders (Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein), intensive checks are carried out in the area close to the border. Currently, 11 of the 27 Schengen member states carry out internal border controls. In addition to Austria, these are France, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Italy, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Slovenia and Poland.


Source: Vienna


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *